What are the four pillars of Umrah

What are the four pillars of Umrah?

Umrah have four pillars: Ihram, Tawaf, Sa’i and Halq or Taqsir. Here you will get complete information about the four pillars of Umrah from authentic sources. One would like to complete this journey without any difficulties. Therefore, always try to choose the best agency for booking your Umrah packages.


According to Sharia, Umrah means circumambulation of the Kaaba. Umrah is an Islamic pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia performed by Muslims that can be performed at any time of the year, unlike the Hajj which is specific dates according to the Islamic lunar calendar. This is a very pure way to connect with God. Umrah is not mandatory but highly recommended. Umrah can be performed in less than a few hours while Hajj takes longer and involves more acts of worship.

Source👆: https://medium.com/@thekhalifahgroup/pillars-of-umrah-b6368eadb91b 


Umrah dates back to 622 AD, when the Muslims of Mecca led by the Prophet migrated to Medina to escape persecution at the hands of Arab infidels and the city’s authorities. On September 24, 622 CE, the Prophet of Islam completed his Hijra (journey from Mecca to Medina), marking the beginning of year 1 in the Islamic calendar. However, performing Umrah and seeing their homeland again remained a strong desire of Muslims.

Source👆: https://zamzam.com/blog/history-of-umrah

Read also: Which are the best places to visit in Estonia?

The Pillars of Umrah

Umrah have it’s four pillars:-

  1. Ihram
  2. Tawaf
  3. Sa’i
  4. Halq or Taqsir


Ihram means a sacred state that Muslims enter and remain in during the specific rituals and ceremonies required to complete Umrah. The Muslim state is entered by following certain cleansing rituals and wearing proper clothing. Ihram is also used to refer to the ceremonial clothing chosen for the purpose of performing Umrah and must be worn by all men and women. The dress of Ihram removes all social representations of wealth or social differences and ensures that both men and women renounce vanity and the temptations of the world.

Source👆: https://www.muslimaid.org/what-we-do/religious-dues/qurbani/what-is-ihram/ 


The term Tawaf is derived from the Arabic verb ‘tafah’ which means ‘to encircle something’ or ‘to go around something. In the Islamic context, Tawaf refers to circumambulating the Kaaba seven times in a counter-clockwise direction as part of Umrah, starting from Hajar-e-Aswad. It is one of the most important duties of both Hajj and Umrah, without which the major and minor Hajj and Umrah are incomplete. While performing Tawaf, pilgrims recite the Takbeer and various other supplications based on the Sunnah of the Prophet.

Source👆: https://thepilgrim.co/what-is-tawaf

Preparation of Tawaf

In order to perform Tawaf, you must be free from all minor impurities and be in a state of ablution. If at any point during Tawaf your ablution ends, perform ablution again and start Tawaf from where you left off. You will naturally be dressed in Ihram which will be chaste. For men, it is necessary to cover the area between the navel and the knees, while for women, the entire body should be covered except for the hands and face.

Source👆: https://thepilgrim.co/how-to-perform-umrah-guide/ 

Starting point of Tawaf

Once you are in Mutaf, observe the opening of the right shoulder, as per the Sunnah for Tawaf Umrah. This can be easily done by passing the top sheet of your ihram under your right armpit and hanging it over your left shoulder. Keep your right shoulder open throughout the tawaf.

The starting point of Tawaf is the corner of the Kaaba where the Black Stone or Black Stone is placed. Stand facing the Kaaba with the Black Stone on your right side. This is where you will perform Tawaf.

Source👆: https://thepilgrim.co/how-to-perform-umrah-guide/ 

After Tawaf

Once you have completed your Tawaf, follow the steps:-

Salah Al-Tawaf

It refers to the two rak’ahs of prayer that should be performed after completing your Tawaf. Although it is preferable to offer this prayer near Maqam Ibrahim, it is not possible because it is located inside the Mutaf. Thus you can offer this prayer anywhere in the mosque.


After Tawaf prayer, walk towards Zamzam water well which is located inside Masjid al-Haram. You should be able to get water from any dispensers and fountains around the area. Duas are also accepted at this station, so pray as much as you can.

Source👆: https://thepilgrim.co/how-to-perform-umrah-guide/ 




Safa and Marwa are two small hills that are located now in the Great Mosque of Mecca in Saudi Arabia. Muslims travel there seven times between them, during the rites of Umrah.

Source👆: https://medium.com/@thekhalifahgroup/pillars-of-umrah-b6368eadb91b 

4.Halq or Taqsir

Halq is the complete shaving of the head and applies only to men. Taqseer is a term that refers to cutting short hair and is also recommended for women performing Umrah.

Source👆: https://www.umrahtrip.com/web/halq-and-taqsir/#:~:text=Halq%20is%20the%20act%20of,women%20who%20are%20conducting%20Umrah 

Umrah consists of four pillars Ihram, Tawaf, Sa’i, and Halq or Taqsir. This article is based on sources of the contents of authentic websites. So, if anyone has the intention to perform Umrah from the UK in 2022 or 2023 then get to book Umrah Packages 2022 UK or Umrah Packages 2023 UK because it’s better. 

commodity forecasting Previous post Importance of Artificial Intelligence in Commodity Forecasting
Sleep Disorder Next post You Can Avoid Sleep Disorders Now by Adopting These Advice